Soup and Salad

À la carte

A thick crush of glowing flavors puréed into a new whole. The melting pot fantasy of us, of US. And we ate it, choked it down to believe. Today we say “salad,”talk about separate ingredients bringing spice and sweetness to the plate. My caper, your tomato, his artichoke heart. This is the new ideal. And we should swallow, should believe. But I’m not a caper, a tomato, an artichoke heart. Will we ever toss together so lightly and easily? Can we? The salad feels as much a lie as the soup. There are so many cooks in this kitchen. And none of us clear on how best to handle our ingredients, none of us willing to step back from the heat, all of us angry when we come away burned.

Yeah, really stretching to find anything here. Inspiration wouldn’t be forced through me today. My brain is elsewhere, but a challenge is a challenge. Actually, maybe that’s the problem: I’ve given myself a triple challenge: a poem a day, the same form every day, and matching my poem to the prompt on the Poetic Asides blog. Today’s prompt fell completely flat for me, but I made myself stick with it. Why do I do that, make things so much harder for myself than they need to be?

Yeah. Sounds like a metaphor for my whole life. Here’s hoping for something better tomorrow.

Update: There was some problem with my posts not posting. I’d hit “publish,” and go on about my business while my posts would go … I don’t know where. April 4th showed up on the 6th! The others haven’t shown up at all. I’ve just finished a whole reset-and-do-over with my settings, and I think I’ve fixed the problem. I’m going to go ahead and post the ones that vanished. I’ll post one a day — with their original dates — and I’m going to resist the pull to revise/scrap-and-write-new. I’ve succeeding in resisting with this one, so there’s hope.


NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them? Let’s share this craziness!

As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to write a vegetable poem. I don’t actually know what anyone might mean by that, but there it is. You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

2 thoughts on “Soup and Salad

  1. woaca2008

    what this makes me think is, we are not a meal, we are not meant to eat each other or to be eaten. the food metaphor has gotten out of hand. thank you for shining that light.

    Like

Your turn ...

