I don’t dare.

… which is just to say that I didn’t use today’s Poetic Asides prompt: “dare.” It’s a great prompt, but I needed a different distraction, needed to sink my brain in somewhere else tonight.

Escape

I my dream, you are laughing. Your head back, your long neck exposed. I love you. Or want to. Even dreaming, I know you, recognize how easily you will turn away, how quickly your laughter will cut, will fade. But your laugh is full, your broad shoulders are shaking. I love you. I can feel the weight of you against me, the strength of your embrace. This is the sweetness, the reason to believe. I savor the sound, the hidden pain. I wake myself slowly.

I have to say, the bloom is definitely off the rose for me and this form. I’m not throwing it over. Not yet. But I seem to have peaked way too early. And now I’m scrapping the barrel bottom every day. Sigh. Maybe tomorrow’s prompt will set me on fire. A girl can (dare to) dream, can’t she?


NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them? Let’s share this craziness!

As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to write a dare poem. I don’t actually know what anyone might mean by that, but there it is. You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

One thought on “I don’t dare.

  1. Wow, were you looking over my shoulder a couple of weekends ago? I had posted on FB that I was inebriated enough to make a bad decision, but not enough to go through with it. Your prose-poem reads like my stream of consciousness at that time as I considered potential bad decisions.

Your turn ...

