A Loss for Words

Lover’s Lament

I lost him because I lost my words. A cruel trick. The universe’s surprise and utter betrayal. How could I, who agonize over the simplest word choices, take days to craft a message, and that message set him against me, sever all ties? Lost my words. Lost that moment, that place of comfort, safety. Lost what felt like the last chance. Lost. He told me that once, during our time apart, he’d had a dream. Saw me walking and stumbling, not blind, but slightless all the same. What does he see now?

Yeah, that one’s not really working. That one kind of sputtered and died before I got my notes typed. It had been rolling around in my head most of the morning, but by the time I sat down to write, whatever was good had found its way out of my confines and off to more fertile, skilled terrirtry.


NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them? Let’s share this craziness!

As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to write a damage poem. You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

One thought on “A Loss for Words

  1. This sounds like Muse chastising you for not heeding his call the moment he rang “…surprise and utter betrayal”. And now you’re being punishing by withholding his gifts to you. As writers we are always in fear of writer’s block “Saw me walking and stumbling, not blind, but sightless all the same”. That we’ll never be so inspired again “Lost what felt like the last chance”. I’m guessing what was seen were new chances ” What does he see now” as I know I still have several more poems to read,..

Your turn ...

