Lying

Today’s Poetic Asides prompt is a two-fer: write an honest poem or write a dishonest poem. I wanted to try writing an honestly dishonest or dishonestly honest poem. The prompts haven’t been speaking to me much, but this one feels closer to connection.

Either Or

Which is worse: the lie that spares your feelings or the one that hurts them? Is it wrong to say, “I love you,” when I can’t define that verb, when I don’t know how it feels? When you confront me with my embellishments and omissions, is it better to own my guilt or to deny? When you said I should trust you, did that mean you were a safe space, or was it a warning for me to back away? Lying to you is easier than leaving myself exposed, easier than sitting in the quiet and waiting for an answer, easier than accepting risk and breathing it in. When you said you needed me, was I supposed to believe you?


NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them? Let’s share this craziness!

As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to write an honest or dishonest poem. You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

One thought on “Lying

  1. I can’t make me love you, so it’s easier to believe you don’t need me than tell you such. It’s surprisingly easy to lie to oneself when one does not want to face the potential consequences, potential responsibilities inherit of dealing with the truth.

    Like

Your turn ...

