Venting

Ties

This. The reason I stay tethered. This. The softness of your hair, the smell of your skin, the vibration of your voice in the hollow of my chest. Tethered. All these years later. To the heat of your hand on my back as I slept. I’m carrying you, every day, everywhere, the weight of you thick in my throat. When do I let go? When do those shadows fade?

I’ve done less complaining about my chosen form this year, but don’t be fooled: this prose poem business is not making me happy. We aren’t anywhere close to being friends. It’s really just not feeling comfortable. The zeno felt comfortable. The tanka felt made for me. The arun was made for me, so of course it felt just fine. This form? It feels clunky and forced. I’m not giving up, just feeling a little smacked about the head by this form.

Sigh.


As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to write a swing poem. You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them?
Let’s share this craziness!

2 thoughts on “Venting

  1. these prose poems feel like notes for prose short stories. here’s a definition of “prose poem”: a piece of writing in prose having obvious poetic qualities, including intensity, compactness, prominent rhythms, and imagery — which describes many of your stories.

    Like

Your turn ...

