Sweet or Solid

What’s up with the Poetic Asides prompts this year? They are really not making it for me most of the time. Worse, I spend my time trying to squeeze myself into their restrictions when I know they don’t speak to me, and then I’m caught out at the last minute with no poem and having to compose on the fly. Feh. Just two vowels? Are we in the seventh grade? Are we trying to turn poetry into a game to make it palatable for the youngsters?

Clearly cranky today.

Trust is like masonry, like building a brick wall, like good fences. Piece by piece. One hand extended, another catching hold. Good fences. Like Kaprow’s sweet wall — bread and jam for brick and mortar, I always say my hands are open. If I’m lying, is it to you or to me? Is it that I want to be that person, the one who can still be open? Are these walls brick or bread? The loudest voice inside me is the one that’s stopped believing. Can her hands ever be open? Can mine? And I choose. Sweet or solid. Brick or bread.


As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to “pick 2 vowels and write a poem using words that only contain one or both of those vowels. For instance, write a poem with words that only have a “u” and “o.” Also, the letter “y” is wild–so the words “my” and “gypsy” are freebies.” You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them?
Let’s share this craziness!

One thought on “Sweet or Solid

Your turn ...

