The Searchers

So today I received the interesting information, provided by my stats page, that a) somewhere in the world there is a person who actually goes to Google and types “hairs on girls asses” into the search field, and b) that search brings them to my blog.

Back when the internets went all crazy about casting in The Hunger Games movies, I wrote about the sick responses to the casting for Rue, Thresh, and Cinna. One of the screen caps I included in that post was a tweet that described Amandla Stenberg as “an ugly little girl with nappy ass hair.”* And because of that post, people curious about hairy-butt girls stumble into this space.

I always wonder what people who are so obviously not looking for me think when they wind up here. People like the racists who search for, “niggers act like animals,” and end up on my “Only Wild Animals” post. Do they stay and look around a bit? Do they wonder how the Google Gods could have misunderstood them so completely?

I don’t actually want to know the details or daily life of a person who searches for “hairs on girls asses.” That information already tells me more about them than I need or want. Seeing that in my search stats makes me long for a “keep the jackasses and fools out” filter on this page.

While I wait for someone to design that feature … tonight’s attempt at a prose poem. I was talking books this afternoon, so tonight’s poem is about reading.

Between the Lines

Feeding me power. Yes. That word, mindfully chosen. Power. Setting me in motion, my heart alight, my soul traveling. Power. To lead me, push me, cajole me, convince me to care for a sworn enemy. Power. Like hurricane winds, like the first November flurries, like hot spicy tea and a pine-scented fire, like good food. Almost like good sex. Power. Magic. From one hand to my mind. From a single idea to a universe. Power. I drink it and soar — drunk and in love — out of time, out of now. Limitless domains. Limitless dominion.


As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to write an authority poem. You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them?
Let’s share this craziness!

__________

* Just for the record, Ms. Stenberg in character in the film:Rue_Hunger-Games_Amandla-Stenberg
One thought on “The Searchers

  1. I gave up trying to figure out Google’s algorithms. It does indicate that your page is more popular, has more hits, than anyone else’s on the specific subject, but as it’s all for the wrong reasons. All you can do is laugh and shake your head,

    Like

Your turn ...

