File Under “R”

My Brain, the Randomized Generator of Things I Should Have Forgotten

I can never be a scholar, not really, not formally. Not while my brain continues to hold tightly to Super Tramp lyrics and mnemonic devices from sixth grade music class. (Does every good boy deserve fudge? I’m just not sure any more.) I look inside, and I’ve got every ex boyfriend’s birthday neatly ordered on my calendar. Yet, I can’t remember the planning meeting I had last Wednesday. Perhaps my strong suit is my ability to retain useless information, but that is hardly dissertation-worthy. And if it were, somehow, I’m sure I’d get distracted trying to understand why I said “strong suit,” which is not a phrase I normally use. And then I’d start to wonder why anyone says it, where it came from, and what it’s original meaning was. And then I would discover that “strong suit crossword” comes up in the search results, and all would be lost. What were we talking about again?

File under “R” … for “ridiculous,” of course!


As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to:

take the phrase “My (blank), the (blank),” replace the blanks with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem. Possible titles include: “My Dentist, the Torture Expert,” “My Lunch, the Thing I Got Out of the Vending Machine,” “My Father, the Comedian,” or “My Life, the Punchline.”

You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them? Let’s share this craziness!

3 thoughts on “File Under “R”

  1. i love this. partly because it reminds me of my mother, who we always said was a fount of “useless information,” because she knew so much about so many things. why did we think that was “useless”? beats me.

    Like

  2. I feel the same way sometimes (On My Own – Fame), but my useless (Virtual Insanity) specialty is with music. How I can (How Can I Know – Whitney Houston) take nearly any sentence and form a lyrical reference from if I do not reign (Purple Rain – Prince) in my mental randomizer fast (Fast Car – Tracy Chapman) enough. Proof? In parenthesis I reference the songs (I Write The Songs – Barry Manilow), not necessarily (It Ain’t Necessarily So – Porgy and Bess) the exact lyrics, which popped into my melodic head just while writing this.

    Like

Your turn ...

