Straighten Up and Stay Right

Straighten Up

Must have been fun — that lift-off, that upward flow. Wind in his face, sun warming every muscle. Did it feel like magic? Did it feel like power? And when that bird flew wrong, when that bird turned, tried to break the world in one tip of a wing? And me? Am I monkey or buzzard? Monkey? But sometimes buzzard. I can’t be trusted, and you should know. You’ve seen me, seen how inexorably I downshift, give in to the rush and sway of my limbic brain, send you crashing to ground. Monkey. But sometimes buzzard. Sometimes just not capable of flying right. 


As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to write a nature poem.

You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them?
Let’s share this craziness!

One thought on “Straighten Up and Stay Right

Your turn ...

