There’s no good in our goodbye.

… except that there kind of is. Looking at the calendar and realizing that April is on her way out allowed me a sigh of relief. I can soon part ways with prose poetry. I’ve written a few things this month that I don’t mind. A couple of things I actually like. Overall, however, this has been a hard slog, and I won’t be sad to see the back of it. It’s not over yet, however. Time to get to work.

Swagger

I am having a moment. Feeling myself. Standing a little taller. Taking up all the space I need, not shying away when the fact of me makes others uncomfortable. I can’t pinpoint a change. It snuck up on me, this audacity, this bien-dans-ma-peau, this ease sweetened with a touch of arrogance. Who am I? And where did I come from? And where have I been all my life?


As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is a fun one:

Take a word or two invented by William Shakespeare, make it the title of your poem, and write your poem. Check out this list of possibles to choose from. Shakespeare was baptized on this date in 1564. Here are a few to get you thinking: advertising, bloodstained, critic, dwindle, eyeball, hobnob, luggage, radiance, and zany. He invented more than 1,700!

You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them?
Let’s share this craziness!

2 thoughts on “There’s no good in our goodbye.

Your turn ...

