Reintroduction – SOLSC 1

It’s March, the time each year when I make a public effort to commit to a daily writing practice. Today was also the due date for my first assignment in the online comics class I’m taking. We were supposed to write a 2-page comic introducing ourselves and sharing one interesting/surprising thing about ourselves. Yes, of course I agonized over this last bit. Interesting and surprising? About me? Mind = blank. In the end, I settled for introducing myself and Adventures in Racism because, even if I am pretty run of the mill, I do believe my comic is interesting and surprising. Here’s what I submitted:

6_Panel - Girlgriot 1_

5_Panel - Girlgriot 2_

(I’m scanner-less today, so the image quality is weird.) This is the first comic drawing I’ve done in over a year. Which is crazy to realize. I’ve been writing scripts for comics, but haven’t been able to get myself to do any drawing. So I’m glad this class kick-started me. It’s long past time to get to work on the new scripts I’ve written. As for this one, I have to say the GirlGriot-as-Superman-fleeing-the-boulder is one of my favorite things at this moment. I’d love to know what you think of the drawing, and of the coloring. In the perfect world of the future, I’ll use Adobe Illustrator to create the images for my comics, but I feel that world is a LONG way off. And working on the drawings for this assignment reminded me that, as much as the polish of Illustrator appeals to me, I really like my not-at-all-polished line drawings.


It’s that time again. Time for the Slice of Life Story Challenge (SOLSC)! If you’ve spent more than a minute reading If You Want Kin, than you already know about the March challenge and the wonderful space that is Two Writing Teachers. If not, welcome to the ninth annual challenge! Back in 2008, moments after I started this blog and was trying to figure out what that meant, I was lucky enough to stumble into the very first SOLSC. It was tiny then — I think we were only about a dozen folks. Now there are hundreds of slicers all over the world. Thanks to this challenge, March in one of only two times a year when I can be counted on to post regularly (yes, we all see how well I did with that February fiction challenge …), and for that I am ever grateful. If you haven’t sliced before, now’s a great time to start!

SOL image 2014

20 thoughts on “Reintroduction – SOLSC 1

  1. Wow, I am so impressed that you not only share your thoughts but illustrate them. I think the act of showing what we feel through illustrations is so much more difficult. I love that you work on creating comics, graphic novels and comics capture an audience, and sometimes invite an audience that might otherwise not be reading. I really like the lion tamer image, the idea that we are always fighting back the beasts in our world is striking!

    1. Thanks! I’m still very new to making comics, still getting used to how different it is to express myself in “sequential art” than when I write essays or stories. I know that should be obvious, but it continues to catch me by surprise me. I’m glad you liked the lion tamer image. I wasn’t so sure about that one. Thanks for coming by!

  2. Erica Morrison

    I love that you are exploring this historically “playful” pairing of comic style graphics with important conversations about complex issues like racism. What a fresh idea! My favorite part of your comic strip is the two “I’m not” signs with the red/slashed circles followed by “The night is young.” Simply stated but expresses so much!

    1. Thanks, Erica. When I first started this comics project, I wondered if working this subject in a comic would be problematic. But, as I like to say, racism isn’t funny, but it can be a comic! I’m still discovering the ways that using comics makes this conversation more accessible … and loving what I’m learning.

      Thanks, also, for your feedback on the three mini panels! I had the idea early, but wasn’t sure how it would go over. I’m glad you liked it!

    1. Autocorrect, indeed! I’ve sent some crazy messages thanks to that “helpful” tool! I love that the challenge is going strong — stronger than ever! I love the way it keeps me grounded every year.

  3. I feel like an echo chamber here, since my favorite panels are also the lion tamer, the “I’m not” panels and the one following them, and also you as Superman fleeing the boulder (deadline! time running out!). So glad you’re doing SOLSC, and of course totally characteristic that you’re doing two writing things at once (!) in the tiny spaces between your demanding job. Go for it! (that’s my yearly allotment of exclamation points)

    1. Thanks, Sonia. I a also not surprised that I’ve taken on two big writing challenges at one time. How would I be me otherwise? Wish me luck, though. This first week has been hard!

  4. Go ahead girlgriot! I love this so much. The supergriot running from boulder was my favorite panel as well. But so many others as well! Exciting to read more from you this month. Love!!

  5. Yeah, there were pixelated tumbleweeds blowing through my blog as well this winter. Glad you’re back and still plugging away at the comic. You know that second panel had me grinning. I adore the panel of superyou high tailing it from that boulder. I like that it sort of has a “I’m gaining on you!” smirk.

    1. “I like that it sort of has a “I’m gaining on you!” smirk.”

      I thought the same thing! I kept redrawing it, but couldn’t get rid of the smirky face, so I finally gave in. Funny.

  6. Oh, I’m so happy to see your comics again! I love the challenging action poses you’ve drawn yourself in — very bold, and there’s a clarity to your drawings that feels new.

    1. Thanks, Lisa! I think that newness might come from the change in how I”m approaching the comic. I see it so much more clearly now, so maybe that spills over into how I draw?

Your turn ...

