Deadlines, Doubt, and Dealing with Impostor Syndrome 

I had an important deadline Saturday, had to submit something or I’d miss my chance. I found out about this deadline in January. Jan.u.ar.y. I’ve had many weeks to make this happen. Here’s how I worked on it:

  1. Stared at the information.
  2. Thought about how much I wanted that thing.
  3. Stared at the information.
  4. Wondered why anyone would ever consider me for that thing.
  5. Clicked away from the page, telling myself I couldn’t work on it then because I had so much going on and I had to do some homework before I’d be ready to work on that.
  6. Ignore it for a few days.
  7. Repeat from step one.

Over. And over. And over again.

I finally started working on this on Sunday. Yes, when I had hardly any time left to get my work in order. Of course.

Every night last week, I sat down to work, and every night I pushed away from my computer, telling myself I would never finish and shouldn’t be trying anyway because I’m all wrong for this opportunity.

Needless to say, this is horrifically frustrating.

So what’s my story? Clearly, as is true for so many people, particularly women, particularly women of color, I keep running smack into the solid granite wall of Impostor Syndrome.

There are plenty of reasons to love the amazingly talented Viola Davis. Having her call out Impostor Syndrome just moments after being handed her Academy Award was kind of amazing.

I read  about this thing years ago, maybe as long ago as 2011. I recognized myself then, recognized the ways I tear myself down, doubt myself, struggle against the fear that I’ll be unmasked at any moment. On one level, I was relieved to discover that I wasn’t alone, that there was actually a name for the way I thought about myself. At the same time, it was disturbing to discover the realness of what I was doing. I recognized it, but I didn’t try to do anything about it. I didn’t know what to do about it. Yes, there were things I’d learned about stopping a thought, replacing it with a better, kinder, more based-in-reality thought. I’d seen that work when I tried it with bad body thoughts (it’s a body/fat acceptance thing … fodder for another post). But I don’t seem able to catch myself when I sank into Impostor fears, at least not immediately, not quickly enough to stop myself from sinking. I figure out what I’m doing only after I’ve fully shot myself down.

I may have only learned about Impostor Syndrome a few years ago, but I’ve been letting it hold me back for so much longer. All those times I didn’t stand up for myself, just accepted whatever awful treatment was doled out to me …Yeah, that was me believing I deserved to be treated like crap, that whoever was cutting me down was simply seeing me for who and what I really was and letting me know. When a supervisor lost confidence in me and stopped backing my play, I never questioned it. It made perfect sense to me. Clearly she had finally realized I was a fraud.

I had been planning to write that I’ve been losing the fight against Impostor Syndrome for my whole life. But I’ve been trying to track back to when I first felt unworthy, and it’s definitely not my whole life. But it is easily the last 15 years, and that’s a painfully long time.

I shrugged it off a moment ago, but stopping the thought really does have to be step one here. I can’t fight the cycle if I don’t see it coming and cut it off at the knees. I need to see those moments as they happen and shut them right down.

And, in some ways, this is a perfect time to be pushing myself in this way. I’m about to be putting myself out in the spotlight in a couple of ways that will surely trigger Impostor Syndrome again and again. Ramping up my vigilance now, at the start of this “spotlight season,” will be good for me … and it will be challenging, and exhausting, and demoralizing … and so helpful in the long run.

Yes, I can already see that this has to be part of my Be Your Own Cabana Boy self-care plan. Maybe one of the most important parts. Seeing myself clearly, not putting myself down, not standing in my own way … these things are as important as feeding myself well, as getting enough sleep. It all comes back to that comment I threw in so casually at the end of yesterday’s post: I’m worth it. Those L’Oreal ads were clearly onto something. I’m worth this hard work, so it’s time to put in the time.

Is Impostor Syndrome something you’ve dealt with? If so, what have you done to push back against it? If you’ve never faced this, I’m super happy for you, and I’m also super curious about you! How do you think you’ve avoided it?



In 2017, I’m on my #GriotGrind, committed to writing an essay a week.
I’m following the lead of Vanessa Mártir, who launched #52essays2017 after she wrote an essay a week for 2016 … and then invited other writers along for the ride!


It’s the 10th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge!

Head over to Two Writing Teachers to see all of today’s slices!

6 thoughts on “Deadlines, Doubt, and Dealing with Impostor Syndrome 

  1. carwilc

    I don’t know many of us who are not “victims” (not sure that is the right word) of the imposter syndrome. I think I am pretty much always my own worst enemy. Things that I have dreamed about for years- publishing a children’s book, publishing a professional book, opening a school, leading an existing school, even dating, have not happened because I have stood in my own way. I wonder why I always do this to myself!

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness! Our ELA IC group was just talking about this the other day and I hadn’t heard of it, but as soon as one of the girls explained it, it all clicked! I can totally relate! One thing that we talked about was sticking to the facts in a situation. When we start coloring the facts into a story, that’s where it seems to go wrong. We put emphasis on things that shouldn’t be emphasized or we read into things. Also, it’s way more prevalent in women and that makes me think that maybe it’s because we have a lot of trouble talking about our strengths and promoting ourselves. This was in my list to write about this month. Maybe instead I’ll write about what I’m good at 🙂 Thanks for a beautifully, honest post.

    Like

  3. There are all these fine lines, it’s so easy to put oneself against another’s accomplishment and thus doubt one’s own abilities. I’m not going to be the next Niki G nor Toni M, and as long I held them in my heart as my yardstick – I felt like an imposter – because they are not who I am. And remember they were not who they were in the beginning either. Oh, but I can be one heck of a Raivenne!

    There’s a reason the phrase “Do you” exists and it begins with “Do”. We do need to push ourselves. We do need take care or ourselves. And we do need to remember believe in ourselves, because yes, we are doing this and doing it well.

    So when you think you’re seeing the imposter in the mirror, remember you have a blog with comments/opinions online to remind you that you’re damned good and more important you have friends offline whose comments/opinions you value, to remind you, you can do this and more.

    Like

Your turn ...

