The Quiet Before

Everyone’s bundled up home, hatches battened, larders stocked. We’re all just waiting now, waiting for whatever this storm is going to be. Schools and elevated subway service have already been canceled … and the HR department at my job has already sent out their favorite mass email about how we don’t get to have snow days, that we have to use vacation days if we choose not to come to work. Right. Thank you.

We’ll see what the morning has in store for us. The forecast is calling for all manner of nonsense for our mid-March Nor’ Easter: 12″ to 18″ of wet, heavy snow is the stand-out highlight of the forecast for me. I’m ready to stay snuggled up inside all day, working from home, drinking spicy tea with honey and maybe treating myself to the bread episode on the new season of The Great British Baking Show (2 seasons were added to Netflix when I wasn’t paying attention!).

And maybe, just maybe, I’ll spend a little time writing and drawing, two things I both want and need to be doing. A snowy day is good for both.

I know the saying is the calm before the storm, but I like “quiet.” Not all storms come quietly, but I can usually count on that with a good snow. And, after the storm, there’s the way snow seems to muffle sound … which is a real thing, it turns out, not just a thing that feels true but isn’t. Snow is a muffler!

Here’s hoping all of us East Coasters ride this one out smoothly, warmly, and safely! ❤



It’s the 10th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge!
Head over to Two Writing Teachers to see all of today’s slices!

8 thoughts on “The Quiet Before

  1. “And maybe, just maybe, I’ll spend a little time writing and drawing, two things I both want and need to be doing. A snowy day is good for both.”

    How I love that. And wish I took advantage of that myself. I think I might have to one of these days. That’s a vice. In your writing, I’m envious of the “quiet” over the “calm” of the storm. So astute. With all the commotion on the news, your observation of the actual feeling is right on. Excellent slice! Stay warm 🙂

    Like

  2. I know the saying is the calm before the storm, but I like “quiet.”

    I am completely with you on this. Many times, both figuratively and literally, a storm can move through without a trace until you realize its effects.

    Like

  3. Nothing calm nor quiet on this nor’ eastern front. I had to go to work in it this morning. Maybe, may-be, my oven and I will be sweetly re-acquainted this weekend.

    Like

Your turn ...

