That’s all. Amen.

Tonight, my brain is fried, firing on only a couple of cylinders. I have been trying to do too many things. Big surprise.

Every March is like this. I start racing headlong into the month, I stay up late to read other slicers’ posts. I don’t pace myself. I don’t find time during the day to write my slices. And suddenly I get halfway to three-quarters through the month … and I’m ready to collapse. My bones feel heavy. I get cranky and snappish at work. My neck aches. I have nothing to say.

Tonight, having nothing to say reminded me of something. Reminded me of the autograph books we used to use as kids. At the end of the school year or the camp summer, we’d pass them around and have our friends write silly, sweet, clever things in them. (When we did this at camp, people wrote their addresses. Because we were young enough to be foolishly and perennially optimistic that we would stay in touch during the school year. So optimistic … despite the fact that this never actually happened.)

Are autograph books still a thing? Did you ever have one? What kinds of things did you write in your friends’ books? Do you remember any of the things they wrote in yours?

Things I can remember that kids wrote in my autograph books:

America is our nation. Roslyn is our station.
We go to school and act like fools
and call it education.

2 good
+2 be    
4 gotten

I was here, but now I’m gone.
I left my name to carry on.
Those who know me, know me well.
Those who don’t, can go to hell!

And the one that made me remember those books tonight:

Can’t think. Brain dumb.
Inspiration won’t come.
No ink. Bad pen.
That’s all. Amen.



It’s the 10th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge!
Head over to Two Writing Teachers to see all of today’s slices

17 thoughts on “That’s all. Amen.

    1. Hi, Maria — those are actually things other folks wrote in my autograph books. I’m sure I must have at least one of my old ones around here somewhere. If I every find it, it will make for a silly follow-up slice! 🙂

      Like

  1. This has been a tough month for writing, maybe the toughest of the 10 and I can’t say why? Maybe I need for be sadder. I’m floating through this month, without an anchor after a another great trip to Israel. I’m just waiting to come alive in spring…
    I did keep an autograph book but I didn’t keep with it.

    Like

        1. Yes, we have to plan this! The cold might finally be on the way out. Time for a coffee, writing, just finally seeing each other after 10 Marches of slicing together date! 🙂

          Like

  2. We had yearbooks in high school that people would sign and sometimes write messages in. The more popular you were, the more signatures would be in your yearbook. But you had much more creative writers than in my schools. We did have 2 Good 2 Be 4 Gotten. I think we called books with those messages slam books.

    Like

  3. Oh man, the memories. I still have my autograph books from JH; found them when I was unpacking and yes they are chock full of ditties like the first three you list. That last one is a new to me, but yes it is perfectly descriptive for those burnout days.

    Like

Your turn ...

