Giant-slaying

Spent my afternoon talking about David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants. This is the first Malcolm Gladwell book I’ve read … well, heard. I didn’t read it, I listened to it. About three and a half times. It’s another book club pick I thought I wouldn’t enjoy, so I borrowed it as an audiobook from the library.

“Enjoy” doesn’t seem like the right word at this point, as I work my way through listen number 4.

Book group met for hours today … and it wasn’t enough time to talk through everything we wanted to talk about in this book. We had a great discussion, and we still couldn’t fit the whole book in. I, for one, would have been happy to talk for a few more hours so we could discuss all the things. Well … not really, but I am sorry I won’t get to hear those aspects of the book examined by the smart ladies in my book group.

Have you read this book? Which section(s) did you find most compelling? Have you read others of Gladwell’s books? Which would you recommend I pick up next?



It’s the 10th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge!
Head over to Two Writing Teachers to see all of today’s slices!

6 thoughts on “Giant-slaying

  1. that’s a very interesting slingshot you found. Do you think it looks anything like the one David could have used? And the discussion about how the David & Goliath story fit into the overall Bible story was something I was completely ignorant of. That was such an invigorating discussion today.

    Like

    1. I don’t think this is what David would have used. I kept trying to find something that looked like the idea I have in my mind after hearing this story in such detail, but I couldn’t find anything. Our discussion was so great. I love how we all had so much to say!

      Like

Your turn ...

