G is for: Gratitude

Gratitude

I’m remembering
to be grateful, to hold hope.
Remembering all
those moments, shining graces.
I’m remembering
the power in gratitude,
the ways it lifts me
spreads shadowless, golden light
through all my windows
cleansing, filling, building up.
I’m remembering
the love in my life, the love
I am grateful for,
energies that embrace me
all the ways to say, “Thank you.”

Yesterday’s research is still bearing fruit. The openness of this form with the structure of the tanka-envoi ending is really interesting to me. I’m still struggling with my poems, but that problem isn’t about the form. I have to think that through a bit. Maybe I’ve just found the topic for tomorrow’s post …

_____

A chōka is a Japanese form poem with a specific syllable count per line. The shortest form of chōka  is: 5 / 7 / 5 / 7 / 5 / 7 / 5 / 7 / 7. The 5- and 7-syllable lines can repeat as many times as needed. The poem’s end is signaled by the extra 7-syllable line. The final five lines can be used to summarize the body of the poem.



2 thoughts on “G is for: Gratitude

Your turn ...

