Meeting old friends for the first time.

Lucky happy day, this. My lunch hour was spent with Bonnie and Tara! I’ve been reading both of their blogs for such a long time that it seems impossible that we haven’t actually met in person. And now it is impossible because we have met! My excellent slicing friends came into Manhattan today and met me for lots of conversation and a yummy lunch.

This is only the fourth time in ten years that I’ve met someone I know from blogging. And, as with each of those other times, it has pleased me enormously. I like that, after reading bits and pieces of someone else’s life over a period of years, I feel so completely familiar with them. Yes, there is still a moment of, “Oh, how nice to meet you!” formality, but then it drifts away and you remember that you already know so much about the other person, that you have known them for so long. Of course, there are so many things you don’t know about one another, but writing has knitted you together quite comfortably.

I left Bonnie and Tara to head back to my office while they headed off to find a place to write together. That pleased me (and made me wish I could go off to write with them, too!). I’m looking forward to our next meeting!

We’re grainy (and I’m annoyingly slouchy), but happy!



It’s Slice of Life Tuesday! Click through to see what the other slicers are up to this week!

15 thoughts on “Meeting old friends for the first time.

  1. It’s so true that fellow bloggers are old friends from the moment we meet. So glad you got to meet Tara and Bonnie, two favorite blogger friends. I met Bonnie at All Write and Tara at NCTE.

    Like

  2. LOVED our time together finally face to face. Sorry I didn’t get to a slice in time for this week’s.
    I do have some been photos that I’ll send you. First meet up but there’s more to cone friend😄

    Like

Your turn ...

