I love to go a-wandering …

Yesterday’s post about wandering into a secret neighborhood has me thinking about other surprise neighborhoods my city has tucked into its many pockets.

There’s an old-timey few blocks not far from where I live that feel as if they were plucked from a 1950s New York and nestled gently into the 21st century. And that stretch along the Gowanus Canal where folks have moored their houseboats. (There used to be one decorated with gold statues of the gods, which was really a LOT for a small boat, but also fabulous.) There is the randomness of private blocks in south Brooklyn, streets that aren’t managed or kept by the City (which makes exactly no sense to me).

Yesterday’s walk happened because I wanted to get some extra steps. Searching out the city’s secret nabes will give me many thousands of extra steps. I see some exploring in my near future…


It’s the 17th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge!
Head on over to Two Writing Teachers
and see what the rest of this year’s slicers are up to!

Original Slicer - GirlGriot

7 thoughts on “I love to go a-wandering …

  1. Exploring new sections of the city will, I am sure, lead you to many interesting places and give you much to write about. The one thing I love about NYC is how the old and the new (I’m thinking architecture) can live side by side and neither one seems out of place.

    Like

    1. I love that about this city, too! These little forays into the hidden corners of the city will help with my goal of not being so closeted away. Covid made me even more of a homebody than I already was. Exploring will be a fun way to break out of that! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Akilah

    It took me a second to grasp “nabes” because I guess it took a smidge too much brain power for me to make the connection, but I got there. One upside to the stay at home order was that I explored parts of my neighborhood I would never have gone to if walking weren’t the only way for me to exercise/get out of the house. I love how getting extra steps led you to something that has also given you motivation to explore more.

    Like

Your turn ...