What’s that you said?

Tonight’s slice was inspired by Fran’s slice from yesterday. Her post was about mixing up words when speaking a new language. I have studied a handful of languages, some more carefully and committedly than others, and I have also had the opportunity to pick up some bits of a different handful of languages. My brain likes languages, but I’ve written more than once about the fact that it’s often not good at understanding the need to pull from only one language at a time.

Fran’s post mentioned her swapping in “enseñar” (teach) for “aprender” (learn). I have a similar history of word swaps, I repeated confuse pairs of words in Spanish. I haven’t noticed this happen with any other language, and it would be cool to understand why this happens in only one language … if anyone has any guesses, I’d love to hear.

The three most comical instances of my word-swapping:

I was visiting a dear friend in Mexico. Standing outside her house, holding one of her 18-month-old twins, a butterfly (mariposa) flitted past our faces. I called it out to Inez, pointing and telling her to look at … the mantequilla … which, of course, is not the word for butterfly but for butter.

I used to walk with a cane. I was sitting in the airport in Mexico City waiting for a plane to Veracruz when man asked me why I needed the cane. I explained that my rolling pin was very bad (rodillo) when I thought Iw as saying something about the badness of my knee (rodilla). I mean, come on. It’s one letter!

At an old ob of mine, there was a year when I gave a lot of presentations in Spanish. We were hoping to get community mmbers to participate in a giant community development project that was getting off the ground, and most presentations were in Spanish because most of the community members were Spanish speakers. I practiced a lot for those presentations, wanted to be clear about how people could be involved with our development team.

A team. What a great idea. A team. So relatable.

Heh. Relatable. Unless I’m the one telling you about it. Because I stood up and talked about how we hoped folks would join our “equipaje.” I said the word “equipaje” over and over. I must have seemed to be in love with the word. It fell so easily off my tongue.

And everyone seemed into my presentation, smiling, engaged.

And then it was over and people clapped. One of the women in the group came up to talk to me … and told me that she thought I had probably meant to say “equipo” and not “equipaje” … because I’d just spent my whole talk inviting people to be part of our group’s luggage.

I’m pretty sure the Spanish language wasn’t developed specifically to get me caught in comical errors. I know it’s not really a nefarious plot to make me look silly. But it sure gets the job done!

(Thanks for the inspriration Fran! And I had the pleasure of meeting Fran and a dozen other slicers earlier tonight in the slicer Zoom Lainie hosted! 🙂 )


It’s the 17th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge!
Head on over to Two Writing Teachers
and see what the rest of this year’s slicers are up to!

Original Slicer - GirlGriot

6 thoughts on “What’s that you said?

  1. I woke up today and immediately went looking for this slice! I love your stories. My take-away is that other folks must get a good laugh out of us sometimes but better to go out trying than not to try!
    I was reminded about a story my uncle told, about asking for a doorknob sandwich 😆

    Like

    1. Other folks definitely get a good laugh from our confusions, and I absolutely agree with you that it’s better to try than not! I would love to have seen the faces of other people when your uncle placed that order! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These are great stories. As far as the butterfly story goes, if it had been an actual stick of butter that was flying around you would have been right on the mark.

    Like

  3. woaca2008

    You at least learned enough Spanish to give a presentation and only mixed up one word. My brain is no good at other languages. When I travel to other countries, I usually manage to memorize “I’m sorry, I don’t speak [fill in name of language]. Do you speak English?” in whatever language it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I learned that presentation! I practiced like crazy. 🙂 I also learned how to tell people about the classes we offered and how they could get on the waiting list. I can still give that second spiel without hesitation!

      I know I’m lucky, however. My brain likes languages. It mixes stuff up and seems to have thrown all the “Not English” words into a giant bin instead of sorting them properly, but I do seem to have a degree of ease with learning languages.

      Like

Your turn ...