Caught by Surprise

Spring came up on me like a creeper this year. Somehow it seems to have arrived out of nowhere, and I am not ready for it. This weekend, I’ve been in Maryland, and spring has definitely come to town down here, much more than at home. I couldn’t resist taking a few pictures.

First, there were the daffodils, right outside my mom’s door and along the walk I took this afternoon. They’re always so showy, a sure announcement of spring.

For me, however, the true harbinger of the season, the proof that we are casting off winter’s mantle, are the forsythia. I grew up in upstate New York, and our winters were long and solid. The arrival of forsythia was like a shout of joy. Even though I no longer live in a place that gets truly snowy, I still look for forsythia to really mark the start of spring.

Today’s walk gave me a couple of surprise bonuses. First, the magnolia’s down the road from my mom’s house are blooming. While it’s true that this feels way too early for their thick-petalled fabulousness, I can’t resist how much seeing them pleases me. They take me back to my freshman year in college and all the good memories that fill up that time. I had a huge magnolia, the first I’d ever seen, growing outside my dorm window, and it fascinated me.

And finally, in addition to sharing this walk with Fox (my sister, and no, no pictures because that is not her way), we had a companion for a bit of our journey when we were on our way home.

And that was my little mid-Atlantic stroll for today. I’m still a little weirded out that spring has arrived behind my back. The nerve! How are you adjusting to the changing of the seasons? Has spring well and truly arrived where you live? What are your favorite harbingers of the season? And are there any things you’ll miss about winter?


It’s the 17th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge!
Head on over to Two Writing Teachers
and see what the rest of this year’s slicers are up to!

Original Slicer - GirlGriot

11 thoughts on “Caught by Surprise

  1. The first signs of spring bring such joy. In the Midwest, I was always enthralled with the jonquils boldly decorating an otherwise dull, brown world. Loved your walk of spring sitings-magnolia tree flowers are my favorite! :)

    Like

  2. Lainie Levin

    Another reason we’re on the same wavelength, Stacie! I’ll take my daffodils and crocuses and hyacinth, but I truly await the forsythia. Something about the way they burst forth gives me the assurance that it’s OK to come out of hibernation.

    I’m not putting away the ice scraper until I see lilacs, though…

    Like

    1. Oh, the lilacs are definitely the confirmation! We had forsythias on one side of our house and lilacs on the other, and they were definitely my season-change “clocks” when I was growing up! 🙂

      Like

  3. Great pictures. I love your walking companion. Although many of our spring flowers are in bloom, the forsythia has not yet opened. I can see hints of yellow, but no flowers yet. Soon.

    Like

    1. I was surprised our goose friends stayed with us as long as he (she?) did. They are plentiful in the area where my mother and sister live. Here (NYC), not so much! I just can’t imagine them strolling on the sidewalk!

      Liked by 1 person

Your turn ...