I swear: I’m a fan, not a stan, but …

I could have gone to bed as soon as I posted last night’s slice. I was certainly tired enough. Could have gone to bed before midnight for the first time in over a month. And I actually thought I was going to do exactly that. I did, in fact, fall asleep at my computer as soon as I shared my slice. I woke up around 12:30, and got ready to go to bed for real.

And then …

Then I remembered that Cowboy Carter would have dropped at midnight. I immediately downloaded it and began to listen, only hesitating for a second over the realization that it’s LONG (over an hour … 27 tracks!). So yes, I stayed up and listed to the whole thing … and had to have a stern talk with myself about not staying up to listen a second time.

To quote the article in PR Newswire:
"This is the work of an artist who thrives in her freedom to grow, expand, and create limitlessly. It makes no apologies, and seeks no permission in elevating, amplifying, and redefining the sounds of music, while dismantling accepted false norms about Americana culture. It pays homage to the past, honoring musical pioneers in Country, Rock, Classical, and Opera."

Every word of that. And, as Beyonce said in her IG post several days ago: “This ain’t a Country album. This is a “Beyoncé” album.”

And I am here for all of it. A Beatles cover. A “Jolene” cover. Linda Martell. A nod to the Beach Boys. Willy and Dolly. The surprising pleasure of hearing her voice mixed with Miley’s. Inject it into my veins. All of it.

I’m really not a stan. I’ll never be part of the hive. But … she wows me. She pleases me enormously. I’m late to the party — I liked her music whenever I stumbled on it, but with Lemonade, the music pulled me up by the scruff of my neck, demanded my attention, and hasn’t let me go.

Have you listened? For those who have … what songs stand out for you? Do you smile every time you hear Rumi’s sweet little baby voice? Which songs have you already danced to? And are you already trying to guess was Part 3 is going to be? I know I am. I feel like there are a couple of strong hints in this album, but I don’t know …


It’s the 17th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge!
Head on over to Two Writing Teachers
and see what the rest of this year’s slicers are up to!

Original Slicer - GirlGriot

5 thoughts on “I swear: I’m a fan, not a stan, but …

  1. I appreciate this album review; good enough to keep you awake! I discovered Lemonade on a plane ride, and I agree her albums are in a class by themselves. I like how you don’t Stan but you use all the words! You’ve got me looking forward to my own first listen. PS I hope you’re on spring break!

    Like

  2. Akilah

    I haven’t listened yet, but I will. I don’t consider myself a fan at all, but I respect the hustle AND that she’s able to create a cultural moment.

    Like

Your turn ...