Baubles and Bangles, redux

I have a dozen pieces — necklaces and earrings — made by a jewelry/artwear designer I was fortunate enough to be connected to in my late 20s, before her work became so sought after that the prices flew beyond my means. All but one of my pieces are made from lucite resin, which the artist carved and shaped as a sculptor would stone. Ten of my pieces I bought at various studio sales she held. One pair of earrings was a gift from the friend who introduced me to her work. And one pair I was lucky enough to find at an accessible price on eBay two summers ago.

I lost an earring 20 years ago, a fact that upsets me to this day. I still have the remaining earring and will eventually make it into a pendant.

I keep her name as an alert on eBay and Google because pieces are put up for sale every now and then. That’s how I was able to buy the gorgeous green earrings I bought two years ago. The alerts make me long for a bigger bank account (or a sugar daddy). Most recently, there was an extraordinary necklace listed, a necklace I would wear the hell out of. It was offered with a $1,000 opening bid. That necklace would look amazing on me, but I’m not a person who can casually make purchases like that, and I’m not sure I could justify the purchase even if I had that kind of disposable cash.

I mentioned that I lost an earring years ago. It’s still crazy to me that that could have happened. They were large and a litle heavy. How could one have fallen off my ear without my noticing immediately, but that’s what happened. I left the house with two earrings, arrived at my destination with one.

That horror almost repeated itself last week. I was wearing a smaller version of the same style of earring. I went to my event and headed to the subway afterward. As my train was coming in, I reached up to put on my mask … and only had an earring in my left ear! I had a few seconds of complete panic and sadness and frustration. But I knew I’d felt both earrings when I’d put on my mask for the bust I’d taken to get to the train. I was about to retrace my steps back to the bus stop, but then thought to check my scarf. Thank goodness that was a chilly enough night that I had a nubbly wool scarf around my neck, and snagged in that loose weave was my earring. The back had slipped off (or been pulled off by the ear loop of my mask?) and my earring had liberated itself. I pulled off it’s mate and put both in my bag as I stepped onto the train. Crisis averted.

Now, maybe you’re thinking, “Com on, Stacie. It’s just an earring.” First, let me say, if you think any of my earrings is “just an earring,” you don’t know about me and my jewelry. I have risked my life for far cheaper and less significant earrings than the one I almost lost last week. But also, the artwear designer who made those beautiful earrings passed away right before Covid, so — even if I could afford the kinds of prices this jewelry sells for today — there is no replacing any of my pieces. Losing one would break my heart. And, too, I’m just entirely ridiculous about my jewelry, particularly my earrings.

Better backs. This is the secret to not losing my precious Croninger earrings. Losing a back was surely how I lost the earring 20 years ago and was definitely what led to my almost losing my earring last week. Better backs.

I wore my earrings today and was grateful for them, breathed a deep sigh of satisfaction at having them and relief at not having lost one. And yes, if I ever hit the lotto (which is unlikely to happen since I never actually play the lotto), I will spend my prize money (after boring things like debt elimination and obvious things like fountain pens) on finding and buying all the necklaces and earrings from this artist that I can. And I will wear the hell out of them and feel touched by Fortune every time I put one on, just as I do now.

Yes, visual aids. The pink, glowy one is the remaining earring of the one I lost in 2003. The blue are the ones I wore today. The blue are about one-inch long, so you can see how much bigger the pink one is. How could that have fallen off without me noticing? #TheGreatMysteries.

Do you have a similar obsessive love for some adornment or trinket? A favorite pair of earrings, a beloved bracelet? Can you relate to my horror at losing an earring, at almost losing another earring?

(Tonight I had some time, so I decided to play a little with the AI Assistant. I revised based on the first feedback then ran the generator again … and revised again … and generated feedback again … and revised one last time and generated feedback again. You can read the feedback if you’re curious. It’s interesting to see what the AI looks for, the suggestions it adds to it’s feedback as my revisions progress. Maybe my post is better because of the edits? Maybe.)


It’s the 17th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge!
Head on over to Two Writing Teachers
and see what the rest of this year’s slicers are up to!

Original Slicer - GirlGriot

12 thoughts on “Baubles and Bangles, redux

  1. woaca2008

    I can definitely relate to your fear of losing earrings, as I have also lost one of my favorite earrings, and even lost a whole pair when I spent the night at a Hungarian women’s center between flights many years ago (I think I put the pair out to put on before I left in the morning, and then forgot; how could I have done that?). I’ve also gotten earrings stuck in my clothing. Backs are definitely in order. Do you know about the round plastic ones you push onto the earwire through a hole in the center?

    Like

    1. I do know about this little plastic ones. That’s actually what I had on the earring I almost lost. I have a bunch of different types of backs. I need ones that are super snug so they don’t slip off of those wires.

      Like

  2. I have a couple of earring orphans I cannot bring myself to get rid of. Who knows where their mate is. It is funny how we don’t notice when we have dropped something or lost something. I’ve had them get tangled up in my clothes too. I once spent the better part of an hour, searching for a necklace in a pool with a friend only for her to discover it inside her bathing suit when she was changing into clothes. I love jewelry, but I don’t wear it because I’m always so afraid of losing it!

    Like

  3. Denise Krebs

    Stacie, this was a lot of fun. I think that pink large earring will make a beautiful pendant someday. I have several earrings without pairs that I have used for baubles here and there. I don’t really wear expensive jewelry!

    It was fascinating to read your AI-generated feedback. Very interesting. I don’t know what to think of it! It was nice to see your blog featured on the TwoWritingTeachers post today. Good for you! I’ll be interested to see what format you choose for your April poems.

    Like

  4. So glad you found you missing earring and did not have a repeat of what happened 20 years ago. When you care about something and take the time to pick out exactly what you want, losing it is a catastrophe. It is difficult to splurge on something that you like and would really like to have. We did that once with some artwork we bought in NYC on a trip. It was an expense, we had it shipped home. It now hangs in our living room and it brings back great memories every time we look at it.

    Like

  5. Lainie Levin

    I’m glad I read the comments before leaving mine. I think if the comments mean anything, it’s that there is validation to be had, and I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels heartsick to have loved and lost…an earring.

    I still have a cloisonne moon that should have its cloisonne star component, but they lost one another when I worked at summer camp 30 years ago.

    If ONLY I still had it…

    Like

  6. Oh yes, I can fully relate to missing earrings. It always seems to be the sentimental precious ones that disappear. I have only lost one out of an ear, but in all my travels I have lost one half of a favourite pair several times over the years. Once I lost one half and kept it for ages, then threw it out, just before my daughter-in-law messaged me to say ‘is this yours’ having found the other half down the back of a sofa?!

    Like

Your turn ...